

Ohio Society Education and Research Foundation History

In 2007, The Ohio Society of Radiologic Technologist (OSRT) hosted a board meeting attended by two representatives of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT). The ASRT developed and sponsored the "Mariner Project" designed to support State Affiliate Societies in their efforts to promote strategies to help maintain a strong organization. One strong suggestion offered by ASRT focused on the need for OSRT to develop a distinct Foundation, separate from OSRT's business organization.

Why was it necessary for OSRT to separate into two distinct organizations? At that time the OSRT was officially recognized by the IRS as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. By law, this IRS designation limited OSRT in its ability to support politically active, legislative initiatives. As such, the Society needed to separate its business interests from its philanthropic missions. Separation into two distinct IRS non-profit organizational categories provided options for OSRT to be able to be engaged in important legislative activities as well as humanitarian initiatives such as scholarships and grant funding opportunities. Legislative interests, at the time, primarily focused on support of lobbying efforts mainly centered on the CARE Bill. In short, the ASRT provided OSRT appropriate advice and guidance in establishing the OSRT Foundation as a separate entity from the business structure of the OSRT.

In March of 2007, in response to these important recommendations from ASRT, Joe Fodor, the OSRT's Financial Manager, sought advisement of OSRT's attorney (GRAF-STIEBEL-MOYERS) concerning the necessary steps to transition to a new IRS-approved Foundation. In September 2007, Tracy Herrmann, who assumed the role of OSRT's Financial Manager, continued these efforts as directed by the OSRT Board of Directors.

In December, 2007, the OSRT Board of Directors was advised by the OSRT attorney of the requirements to legally establish two organizational entities; one for its business operations and one for its philanthropic operations. The Ohio Society of Radiologic Technologists Foundation was formally recognized as the 501(c)(3) organization, the humanitarian arm of OSRT and, the business arm of the Ohio Society of Radiologic Technologists was formally recognized as a 501(c)(6) non-profit organization. As a result of this change, the OSRT Foundation submitted the required forms to the ASRT to acquire its tax-exempt status under the ASRT group umbrella exemption.

Following these actions, the OSRT Board unanimously approved a resolution to formally separate the two organizations. Initially, the first resolution was presented to the OSRT Board and became effective on February 1, 2008. At that time, the OSRT Board of Directors included: Nichol Bihn, Tricia Leggett, Heather Moore, Sharon Keegan, Connie Bonner, Leisa Arnold, Jan Gibson and Ryan Riffie (student). On February 20, 2008, the official paperwork from the State of Ohio named the Ohio Society of Radiologic Technologists Foundation. On August 12, 2008, the Board of Directors of the Foundation signed a resolution adopting bylaws and approved by the OSRT membership. Following this action, the OSRT was advised to clarify some language of the initial resolution with a subsequent vote of approval by the OSRT Board of Directors. On September 30, 2008, the OSRT Board of Directors included: Leisa Arnold, Sharon Keegan, Connie Bonner, Nicole Bihn, Linda Rizzo, Janice Gibson, Tricia Leggett, Jacqueline Turk, Gloria Albrecht, and Colleen Perry (student). The resolution separating the two organizations was finalized when the membership voted and unanimously approved the resolution on November 30, 2008.

Today, the two organizations are distinguished by name and IRS tax status. The OSRT business operations are currently recognized as a 501(c)(6), and the Ohio Society Education and Research Foundation (OSERF), formally recognized as a 501(c)(3) entity. This classification provides opportunities for contributors to claim tax-exemption for donations made in support of the Foundation. The OSERF has its distinct vision, mission, bylaws and strategic plan.

During the 2013 Annual Meeting of OSRT, the membership voted to change the current bylaws for the business organization ultimately affecting who would be eligible to serve on the OSERF Board. The new OSRT bylaws altered the manner in which Foundation Directors were appointed. Formally, the immediate past Chair of the OSRT Board served as Chair of the Foundation, the newly installed Chair of the OSRT Board served as the Foundation Vice-Chair. In addition, the OSRT Board President, President-elect, and Honors and Awards Chair also served as officers of the OSERF. Based on changes to the bylaws of the OSRT, the Foundation revised its bylaws accordingly and installed two new directors for the Foundation Board. Newly installed directors are Nicole Bihn & Richard States.

OSRT Officers and Board Appointees

2008-2009 Connie Bonner- Chairman, Leisa Arnold -President, Sharon Keegan-President Elect, Linda Rizzo Honors & Awards, Tracy Herrmann (Financial Manager)

Foundation Officers and Board Appointees

2009-2010 Leisa Arnold- Chairman, Sharon Keegan- President, Jackie Turk- President-elect, Heather Moore-Honors & Awards, Jay Ball (Financial Manager)

2010-2011 Leisa Arnold- Chairman, Sharon Keegan Vice Chairman, Jackie Turk, Heather Moore, Brittany Krumpholz (student)

2011-2012 Sharon Keegan Chairman (served partial term), Jackie Turk- Vice Chairman/Chairman, Leisa Arnold-Member at Large, Linda Rizzo, Heather Moore, Gloria Albrecht Awards Committee Chairman, Katie Dietz (student)

2012-2013 Jackie Turk-Chairman, Heather Moore Vice Chairman, Leisa Arnold-Member at Large, Linda Rizzo, Gloria Albrecht, Tara Gross (student)

2013-2014 Jackie Turk-Chairman, Leisa Arnold-Vice Chairman, Gary Greathouse Honors & Awards, Nicole Bihn-Director, Richard States-Director