nw ohio award winners 2013 wThe Professional Recognition Committee of Northwest Ohio held their third annual event to recognize excellence in Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy on November 4, 2013 at Owens Community College. It was made possible with support from area radiology groups, vendors of radiologic equipment and the Owens Community College Alumni Association. There was a social hour with refreshments and live entertainment by Bullfrog Underground. Over 100 medical imaging professionals from the region attended the event.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Debra Achinger, a diagnostic and interventional radiologist with Toledo Radiological Associates. Her address was focused on the virtues of integrity, teamwork, care and respect for our patients, and finding joy and satisfaction in our service to community.

The following were the award recipients in the noted categories (L to R in the photo above):
Rising Star Award: Stephanie Gunderman, B.A., R.T. (R)
Leadership Award: Joan Kirch, R.T (R)
Clinical Excellence Award: Janet Rymers, R.T. (R), (M)
Lifetime Achievement Award: James Johnson, M.S., R.T. (R), (N)
Physician in Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Award: Murray A. Howe, M.D
Educator Award: Joan Berger, B.S., R.T. (R), (M)

Every day we see our colleagues demonstrate excellence in our profession through knowledge, talent, and a caring attitude. The N.W. Ohio Imaging and Therapy Professionals Awards are a means to personally acknowledge those who excel in all areas of Radiologic Technology (Diagnostic, CT, MRI, Interventional, Cardiac Catheterization, Mammography, Nuclear Medicine, and Radiation Therapy). This event is always held during National Radiologic Technology Week to appreciate the significant and indispensable contributions we make to health care.

Back to Top