The 2019 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates meeting was held June 20-23 in Orlando, Florida. There were several Ohio members in attendance. It is always exciting to see so many Ohioans attend and even better when other state affiliate members approached us to say what a strong organization we are! Those attending were:

  • Tiffany Roman, Ohio affiliate delegate
  • Lauren Huffman, Ohio affiliate delegate
  • Dr. Julie Gill, QM chapter delegate and ASRT Fellow honoree
  • Kristin Seitz, MR chapter delegate
  • Ryan Smith, Commission member and Educational Symposium presenter
  • Lucas Gross, NM chapter delegate, Vice chair
  • Jackie Turk, Practice Standards chairperson and Educational Symposium presenter
  • Dr. Tricia Leggett, JRCERT Staff
  • Dr. Heather Moore, Treasure-elect
  • Dr. Tracy Herrmann, Educational Symposium presenter and JRCERT Board of Directors
  • Amanda Golsch, Educational Symposium presenter
  • Allison Hermance-Moore, Student Leadership Development Program AlumniASRT 2019 w
  • Dr. Phil Ballinger, ASRT Fellow and Life Member
  • Haley Powell, Student Leadership Development Program
  • Ashleigh Williams, Student Leadership Development Program

 The OSRT also won the award for most tickets sold in the ASRT Foundation annual drawing! We are continuing the tradition of winning!

The House of Delegates was comprised of 156 delegates (98 affiliate delegates and 58 chapter delegates) and 93 Student Leadership Development Program participants. Dr. Melissa Jackowski, ASRT President, gave her presidential report. In her report, she highlighted the progress of her initiatives which included the offering of a three-tiered research grants, Advocacy efforts and increased awareness of those efforts to the membership, and a revitalized ASRT Leadership Academy.

Dr. Sal Martino provided the ASRT report. He stated that the ASRT is well aware of the report from the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) which recommends eliminating the use of gonadal and fetal shielding for pelvis exams in diagnostic radiography, they are wanting to research in order to make the most informed, evidence-based decision, before developing a positioning statement. The ASRT BOD will be discussing at their fall Board of Directors Meeting. Stephanie Johnston, ASRT President-elect, shared her presidential initiatives, which include a volunteer roadmap, mammography toolbox, and diversity awareness of our medical imaging and therapy professionals and patients.

The ARRT report focused on the CQR process and the need for technologists to start early on the process. Out of the 8,968 technologists in the first round of CQR (period ending 2021) only about 2% have completed the process. It is imperative that technologists begin early in their three-year cycle to ensure enough time for any prescribed CE. The JRCERT stated the last draft of The Standards revisions will be available for comment.

The ASRT Honors evening honored two Ohioans. Dr. Julie Gill and Jonathan Mazal (posthumous) were elevated to the status of Fellow. At the Presidential Reception, Heather Moore was installed as Treasurer!! The following OSRT members were elected as chapter delegates for next year:

  • Tiffany Roman, Radiography chapter Chairman
  • Christine Gialousis, MR chapter Chairman

The House of Delegates approved the Commission recommendation to combine all Practice Standards documents into one more concise and streamlined document. If you are looking for your modalities’ Practice Standards it will no longer be separated from other modalities, but just one document. This single document will still go through an evaluation and update review cycle.

As OSRT members can see, it was a productive meeting and it was a pleasure to serve the membership as your delegates. 

Respectfully submitted OSRT Affilaite Delegates,

Tiffany Roman
Lauren Huffman

Back to Top